Avoidance calculator

September 1, 2009 at 9:01 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

About a month ago I started looking at the other tanks doing similar content as me (Naxx 10/25 and Ulduar 10) and comparing myself against them. One thing I noticed was that my health was generally higher but my avoidance was quite a bit lower. I decided to start looking for ways to improve my avoidance without giving up too much in health.

One of the really tricky parts of figuring out avoidance is that the various stats are subject to diminishing returns. Diminishing returns mean that for every point of, for example, dodge rating that you add the next point of dodge rating will provide less avoidance. To use an analogy, diminishing returns are like taxes; the more of the good stuff you get, the more gets taken away. Calculating diminishing returns is not easy.

Anyhow, some very smart people have figured out a lot of the different combat ratings. A lot of what is written there is difficult to read and use immediately, though. For example, if I want to add a gem to an empty socket, which gem should I add?

To solve this issue, I put together a simple little calculator for helping myself with decisions like this. I found it useful for myself as a warrior tank, so I have tried to update it for all four tanking classes. I have not extensively tested it for everybody else, but I am reasonably confident that everything is in order.

Anyhow, I hope somebody else finds my Avoidance Calculator With Diminishing Returns useful.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] bugs, especially for non-warriors, but it should get you close.  I have written about it in a previous post.  If you find problems with the calculator, please notify; I will fix it as soon as I am […]

  2. I made a modification to the calculator recently for how it calculates avoidance from defense. For some reason, the current version that is online isn’t working right. Rrrrr, how did I not notice this before? I will fix this as soon as I am able.

  3. Issues fixed, at least for warriors. Looks nicer now, too.

  4. I agree with David, if it’s a real diamond ring it will be wonderful.
    Inside my state the custom is always to give the ring of grandma
    that are precious because are handmade.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

