The best glyphs

September 2, 2009 at 4:09 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

This is part of a larger thread I see going on in discussion of tanking-related decisions, but I’ll focus on a glyphing issue that came up in a discussion with a fellow warrior tank today. We were talking about how he had changed to glyph of cleave on my recommendation and how it had helped a lot. One thing that was noted was that cleave is not generally listed as one of the top or more popular glyphs.

I think part of the reason for the underappreciation for glyph of cleave is that it’s a very poor glyph for boss tanking. When it’s just the boss and the tank, it is going to be heroic strike, not cleave, that is spammed. So the bonus from the glyph is minimal to none.

But are there really that many difficult tank and spank fights out there? I’ve never been in a group that struggled too mightily with Patchwerk or Hodir, but Gothik, Auriya and the trash before Thorim can be brutal. Keeping aggro on multiple mobs in a progression fight can be very difficult when you have a raid of scared dps trying to kill the bad guys.

So, for this reason, I’m finding glyph of cleave very useful even in raids. It’s fantastic in heroics and I don’t understand why more tanks don’t use it. I suspect it is because many tanks aspire to be the Main Tank and dealing with trash does not figure in to that. For reasons I hope to cover later, I think that’s dumb.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A couple days ago I decided to respec and reglyph for short cooldowns. I don’t know if this is the right decision, but I wanted to give it a shot.

    I still have glyph of cleave, but I had to give up glyph of blocking and glyph of sunder armor. This has reduced my aoe capabilities a bit, but I think the jury is still out on whether this was a good idea or not.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

