When is avoidance better than stamina?

September 13, 2009 at 6:07 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

When I get new gear and I am trying to decide what sort of gems or enchants to get, I ask myself whether I need more avoidance or more stamina.  It’s an important question, but the answer isn’t easy!

There seems to be a fair amount of debate within the tank community, too, as to whether avoidance or stamina is to be preferred.  Various metrics, such as Effective Health and Reaction Time, have been developed to help measure these.  I’d like to highlight the second of those two links for a moment: Hypatia, the author, does a really excellent job of explaining how avoidance can be much more powerful than EH in particular situations.  Go read it!  (Also, don’t be intimidated by the mathematics; it’s there for the people who like to work these things out for themselves)

One thing I have tried to do with my own gear is to have lots of options.  I can swap out trinkets, rings, and other items to best suit my situation.  For example, in fights with heavy magical damage (which armor and avoidance cannot reduce), I use two +stamina trinkets.  For trash, I typically switch to block rating/block value items for their mitigation and threat. 

Thinking about all of this prompted me to go buy the Valor Medal of the First War just for Patchwork and similar fights.   I don’t think my 850 armor trinket was doing me much good on that fight.  The damage reduction I was getting (~2% on hits) would not be enough to allow me to survive an additional hit beyond what I could have survied with an empty trinket slot.  If I can occasionally dodge (~1.3% improvement), that gives my healers time to top me off for the next hit.  I hope it works!

(Also, for evaluating which type of avoidance is best, please see my earlier post regarding the Avoidance Calculator)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

