Icecrown Citadel: positioning Saurfang during the gunship battle

January 5, 2010 at 1:24 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

It has come to my attention that getting the initial positioning on Saurfang is not always obvious to tanks attempting the encounter for the first time.  Below I describe a method I have used that worked well for my raid group.

I am going to assume readers understand the fight, but here are a few items that may not be covered in online strategy guides:

  • Tank and healer need to jump on and off at roughly the same time.
  • Saurfang tended to kill me at the very start of the fight (healer had not arrived to heal me yet) or the end (his damage buff increased his damage to very high levels).  Use cooldowns accordingly.
  • If your healer stays behind on the alliance ship (some strategies that I have read suggest this), Saurfang must be tanked at the edge of the ship to be in range of healing.
  • Saurfang cleaves.  Don’t position him close to your group.

The trickiest part of this fight for tanks, I feel, is making the jump back to the alliance ship.  I’ve tried to provide a very brief explanation in this picture (click to enlarge):

The advantage of doing it this way is that you stay relatively close to the alliance ship, no movement is required beyond a quick little rotation at the start, and the jump requires no fiddling around with the camera angle.  You jump, taunt, rotate, and all positioning is done.  From there it’s about staying alive and hitting the jetpack at the right moment.

Blizzard did a nice job of making this one a pleasant interlude between the trickier Deathwhisper and Saurfang Jr. fights.  All in all, a very fun fight.

Edit: I’ve written another post about Gunship.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great visual. I tweeted it.
    Thanks also for your recent comments on expertise at my site. I’ve just put you in my own RSS reader.

    • Thank you for the kind note, Gravity! I’m glad to hear you found the image useful.

  2. […] heroic version of Lootship is no longer much of a challenge for most raiders. I’ve written previously about this fight. In the interest of making the fight interesting (or at least faster), I thought I […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

